Stephen Apps became President, our International President was Sakuji Tanaka, District Governor was John Gatt and Assistant District Governor was Terry Simmonds.


We started the year with 26 members, in November we inducted three members Paul and Meredith Miegel and Robyn Rhodes.  Unfortunately we saw the passing of Fred Taylor PHF after a long convalescence at age 94.  We also saw Ken Filcock move out of the area and as a results resign his membership, leaving us with a net gain of one member.


In July we said goodbye to our French exchange student Axel Klien.  As no local students applied for exchange we did not send anyone out and as a result we didn’t host an inbound student.


During the year the club did a number of new things:

  • Our first Federation Festival Australia Day Markets BBQ.
  • Supported the “Don’t Text & Drive Foundation”
  • We again did Movember after a few years absence 

The club also participated in its usual programs of catering for the military vehicles and Valhalla Winery, as well as doing race gates, organising the Giving Tree at Corowa Supa IGA, which saw Christmas Hampers given away to needy families in Corowa and Bowel Scan .


The club again contributed Rotary Foundation, via the contributions being attributed to each member’s individual account.

Total donations for the year were $10,630.


The club received a surprise at our annual changeover when a significant sum of money was give to the club from the estate for Fred Taylor.  These funds were to be used to provide ongoing scholarships to Corowa students in tertiary studies.


The changeover saw Rotarians Gail Law, Graeme Campbell and Noreen Miller presented will Paul Harris Fellows.

The 2012-13 Board was:


President – Stephen Apps

Vice President – Paul Mowlam

Secretary – Noreen Miller

Treasurer – John Law

President Elect – Ian Carrington

Membership – Gary Poidevin

Public Relations – Gail Law

Service Projects – Ian Carrington

Foundation – Wally Cann


Club Administration – Noreen Miller/John Law