RYLA is Rotarians working with youth in leadership development.  


Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) is an intensive training program for community youth leaders. Young people ages 18-30, chosen for their leadership potential, attend an all-expense-paid seminar, camp or workshop, generally three to ten days in length, organized and run by Rotarians with records of achievement. The RYLA event can be sponsored by several districts jointly, by one district, or by a Rotary club.



RYLA programs vary according to the age and interests of participants and length of event. In 1996, the RI Board of Directors recommended a core curriculum for every RYLA that includes the following:


  • Fundamentals of leadership
  • Ethics of positive leadership
  • Importance of communications skills in effective leadership
  • Problem-solving and conflict-management
  • What Rotary is and what it does for the local community
  • Building self-confidence and self-esteem
  • Elements of community and global citizenship while reflecting issues of local relevance in a manner appropriate to local customs.


The impact of the program spreads further as the program awardees influence other young people. Moreover, RYLA programs often lead to the formation or strengthening of Interact and Rotaract clubs with their leadership development and service activities.


The program is an exciting opportunity not only for the attendees, but also for the Rotarians, who are given the chance to help develop their own leadership skills and create new friendships with each other and the participants.


Organizing and implementing a RYLA program is a complex undertaking, requiring the time and effort of many Rotarians at the club and/or district level. Its worth is realized by those Rotarians who, through RYLA, have seized the opportunity to work with one of the world's most valuable resources — tomorrow's leaders.


The participants our Club has sponsored are: 

1968 - Lynn Fredricks, Corowa

1968 - Ray Bratt, Corowa

1968 - Zanette Spencer, Rutherglen 

1992 - Nicole Scheetz

1993 - Scott Fredericks